In The NEWS


 

Ohio DUI / OVI
"Operating A Vehicle Under the Influence"

As everyone knows, police in Ohio and around the country continue to "crack down" on drivers suspected of driving under the influence. It is important to know that just because you are charged with DUI / OVI, you do not always automatically "lose" your case. An attorney experienced in handling DUI / OVI matters can sometimes defeat the DUI charge and can certainly do things in court to minimize your punishment.


Let's look at possible penalties if you are convicted of a DUI / OVI:

OFFENSE

Jail

Fine

Driving Suspension

Time w/o privileges

Plate impound W/in 6 years

First

3 days to 180 days

$200-$1000

6 months to 3 years

15 days

no, but exceptions

Second

10 days to 180 days

$300 - $1500

1 year to 5 years

30 days

90 days

Third

30 days to 1 year

$500 - $2500

2 years to 10 years

1 year (interlock)

180 days

Fourth

60 days to 18 months

$750 - $10,000

3 years to life

3 years

NA

It should be noted that there are exceptions and possible variations depending on what judge interprets the law. Some judges deal with first or second offenders in specific ways. It is important to be represented by an attorney who knows the differences between how judges punish offenders.

 

If you have been charged with DUI, please contact us. We represent defendants for DUI and most other types of criminal cases, primarily in Hamilton, Clermont, and Butler Counties in Ohio. We would be happy to help you with these legal problems and have payment plans that can help you with the economic side of your case.

 

Call Hackett Law today at 513-333-0050 for a free consultation.

 

>Back to areas of practice
>Back to DUI / OVI