In The NEWS
MILITARY: Marine acquitted on all counts. Jury clears Sgt. Ryan Weemer in POW shooting
Clerk of Courts
Hackett Law Offices
1210 Sycamore Street
Cincinnati, Ohio 45202
Criminal Defense Lawyer
I've been charged with a minor misdemeanor for possession of marijuana in Ohio. Now what?
On the surface, a first-time minor misdemeanor charge for marijuana possession of less than 100 grams is about as serious as a traffic ticket in Ohio. You won't go to jail. But you will lose your driver's license for a minimum of six months, and that's just the start of it.
What are the consequences of a drug-related misdemeanor conviction in Ohio?
If it's your first offense, the courts make it seem simple enough to plead guilty, pay a fine, and be done with the ordeal. Unfortunately, there are many hidden penalties, risks, and long-term consequences for pleading guilty in Ohio to possession of marijuana or other drugs.
Being convicted of a minor misdemeanor for possession of marijuana in Ohio will create a permanent criminal record for you. That means a red flag on background checks for the rest of your life, which can prevent you from getting a job, apartment, house, receiving public benefits, or owning a firearm. If you're attending or plan to attend college, a drug-related conviction will also disqualify you from receiving financial aid.
Don't underestimate the hassle of being prohibited from driving your car for six months or longer. You run the risk of adding to your criminal record if you're caught driving on a suspended license—and it's easy to get caught because cops employ random and automatic license plate scanning that alerts them of your suspended license. If you're pulled over, it can seriously compound your legal issues.
How can I avoid being convicted of marijuana possession in Ohio?
Before you let a drug-related minor misdemeanor ruin your life, contact Hackett Law Offices in Cincinnati for a free consultation with an experienced Ohio criminal defense attorney. We specialize in speedy, successful litigation for small criminal cases like these.
But how will I afford a criminal defense lawyer?
On your own, simply getting your driver's license reinstated after a six-month suspension costs roughly $500. You can hire us for about $200 more in most cases, and in most cases we can help you avoid getting your license suspended, thus saving you that costly re-instatement fee. Looking at the additional legal risks of pleading guilty and the long-term consequences of a permanent criminal record, it's worth investing now in the right lawyer. You can't afford not to!
Contact us today for a free consultation and to get your life back. Call 513-333-0050 to schedule your free consultation.